Teenagers And Raging

Let’s start with a joke; this is angrier and more controversial then previous posts.

“I recently bought a miniature ship and named it ‘relation’. Now I have a relationship”

So, my fellow teenagers. What comes to mind when we reflect on our cliché teen years? Parties? Getting drunk? (or ‘crunk’ which I have been hearing a lot lately)

Perhaps, but from the bad pun/joke (I didn’t make such a beauty of a pun), I suspect you can guess my focus: Friendships, Relationships and all the other ‘ships’ life brings us. I was talking to a few good friends of mine with level heads and we all agreed on one thing. Our generation is screwed. Yes, I do still have the slightest and most minimal faith in our generation but even this is like a candle slowly burning out. Why are we so clingy? The older generation don’t seem to be so what went wrong. I’ll tell you what: ‘Over-Dependency’. What happened to individualism and independence?!

As teenagers, we are at the peak of emotional instability yet force ourselves into ‘bullshit’ relationships and friendships which an ant could outlive. I mean COME ON, who are you trying to  convince?! Your parents?! Oh sorry! My bad. I forgot you were still in your rebel phase were everything you do makes you an individual; but am I under the wrong expression when I say that the clothes you wear are defined by mainstream fashion?. ‘Oops I did it again’; saying ‘mainstream’ is the new mainstream right? sorry hipster, I’ll try harder next time.

What I’m trying to say is: I HATE MY GENERATION.

“Whoa there! Calm it. Take a ‘chill-pill’ dude, it’s all peace and love bro. Peace and love”…

Peace and LOVE? … PEACE AND LOVE?!

Open your eyes and face the truth. Teenagers deserve the bullshit pressed by media. We ask for it. Getting smashed here, one-night stand there; being a douche here and pretending to care there. Why oh why did we turn out like this. What happened to our generation? I wish I could warp back into time to the era of Jazz and just LIVE. It’s all just wishful thinking isn’t it? The reality is the world is one giant bubble filled with structuralism, consumerism and pattern. Don’t you just get tired of it? The same god-awful faces, minor problems broadcasted as ‘first-world’ problems, boyfriend this, girlfriend that. WHY? Just tell me why you feel the need to tell me things I couldn’t possibly care about?! I DON’T CARE! I have bigger problems than your broken relationships. Your relationship was bound to sink the moment you committed (Pun intended). My advice to you under-age lovers would be this: “Love is… not for you.” Not at the moment anyway. I speak from experience. There’s a reason why there are restrictions and laws in life. There are reasons why your parents tell you certain things. As much as I hated it, they were right. It’s all to keep you away from doing stupid things and scarring yourself in the process. Love has an eternal meaning with so many levels which mankind finds hard to grasp. So in no way shape or form, in our teenage level of maturity and emotional instability, will we be able to graze such a thing. It may be attractive but like a fire, it will burn. Only age and maturity can heal such a wound- something we don’t have.

“Young love is a flame; very pretty, often very hot and fierce, but still only light and flickering. The love of the older and disciplined heart is as coals, deep-burning, unquenchable.” – Henry Ward Beecher

The world would be a better place if you would just stop moaning and experience it. A good friend of mine puts this across nicely. Explore the world and your surroundings. Meet new people! But please, for the sake of humanity, stop complaining about meaningless crap and just LIVE!

LIVE for yourself! In our age it’s okay to be a little selfish (Hey! I said a little) Soon responsibility will kick in and grind your life to a slow pace, if not a stand still. Live the right way because we’re all tired of the stereotypes we’ve brought upon ourselves. We’re just terrible people.

From a self-proclaimed Optimist


Leave a Reply

